A Teacup To A Table

A Teacup To A Table

How do you take A Teacup To A Table?

Several weeks ago I  was sitting in my family room chatting with my daughter about our two favorite tea cups. She has hers and I have mine.  Only we have yet to sip tea out of them.  Mine came from a dear friend, and funny thing, hers came from a dear friend too. We have dear friends with fabulous tea cup taste.  They both sit up on a shelf side by side (the teacups, not the friends).  And then it hit me. I am going to transfer my teacup pattern onto a  piece of furniture. I got very excited about this project and decided to invite you into the process.

Emily's Special Tea Cup

 


Inside of My Special Tea Cup

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

My Special Tea Cup

.It seems pretty easy to get started on such a simple project.  The reality is you have to take inventory of what you will need from start to finish.  Nothing kills the joy of an afternoon project than missing key pieces  to get the project moving.  Taking inventory here of what I need:

Sandpaper,paints, roller brush, white spray paint.

In the upper left you will see some sandpaper.  Brushing off the extra bumps, dirt, and loose parts of the old  finish of an old table. I am not a “play by rules” kind of furniture painter.  This you must know up front.  I am a do it as fast, as easy  and if no one is playing with the piece, licking it, or moving it around then a general soft sanding is fine with me.  I have my rollers ready too. These are removable and washable.  Acrylic color samples that will be the colors  for the flowers on the table. One can of white spray paint.  And the inspiration piece is the Teacup. Total cost for spray paint, rollers, and sand paper $14.50.  Misc paint colors on hand and now I am ready to paint this:

 

Old Dingy Table

This lovely table I picked up a a garage sale for about $8.00. All the screws are tight making this a very stable table to hold a lovely lamp for later.  Now that I have every thing all ready to go.  Important to start project when my husband is watching basketball,  and the boys are all playing.  I can start and finish in one day.  The only delays will be paint drying.

 
Now to the sanding of this lovely table. I have to admit I should have worn a mask, although I was outdoors and did not deliberately breath the stain that was most likely over 50 years old.  It smelled  of my grandma’s attic. Then I water cleaned, wiped down and dried off the table.  I then spray painted the table white. I was glad I had my roller handy as it really helped with the areas that wanted to drip.  Once the paint was dry I added blue trim.  Now the teacup has a purple accent, so faint that if you blurred your eyes it looked blue. I wanted to highlight the blue so I trimmed it out with a dark and lighter blue.  Make no mistake, there are few clean lines. I know when I am done I will get out my fine paint brush and touch up all the areas that I over painted in white.  Here is the table now painted and trimmed.  Ready for the next step?

The Transformation Begins

Painted white and trimmed in blue.  I like to paint on my ironing board.  It is a good height and there is lots of hang over for this table, so I can walk around the project, reach under and over without having to move the table.  I even have the teacup under that stand to remind me of what first got me inspired to paint table.

This next step is what I call layering. I think any beginner would think this to be a difficult project.  Do not look at the project as a whole. Look at this project in layers. Starting with the lightest color I find the pattern on the cup of just yellow.

Inside of Inspiration

The little shelf on the bottom of this table will be modeled like the inside of the cup.  It narrows down the pattern for me to easily see the yellow colors first.  It also allows me to start the “layering” with the lightest colors, which I recommend.

In Process

For some, this may be a tedious job of spacing and measuring. I eyeball the distance and do not hold myself to perfection.  I use to be a perfectionist and a project like this would have taken weeks, I would loose my enthusiasm, and the project  would be junked in my garage.  Believe me this is way more fun and becomes your own.

Lower Shelf

 I also made sure to transfer my first layer of color on the lower shelf too.  Starting with the lightest colors always help “fix” mistakes along the way.  Also keep your “inspiration” piece safe.  I know that if that ironing board gets knocked over I can clean up paints but would be sad to break this teacup. So I kept it on the floor close to the project, or a shelf very close by. 

Layered With Orange

I layered next with orange. It was kind of a sherbet orange which certainly punches out the yellow.  Once the yellow and orange were layered on I started to add the blue.  Are you ready to see all the colors applied and the finished table?

 Layering is a miracle way of painting.  Remember I said do not look at the pattern as a whole, but layer the pattern  with the lightest colors first.  OH JOY!!!  Get excited with me. I am so pleased how this turned out. 

The Finished Product

My teacup and my table now completed.  I am very happy with how this turned out. I took a close up to show how very imperfect this is. Go ahead look very very close at this.  Layering of each color transfers the pattern without even really trying.  I took each color and moved it around the table in about the approximate place it should be.

Lower Shelf

This is that lower shelf. I am so glad I trimmed in blue and decided to take the time to paint the lower shelf.  It did not take any extra time in that the layering of color was just dabbling along with each new layer of color.

 

Arial View

Who paints perfection like that? Not me. When my table was complete and I was happy with my pattern, I took a fine white paintbrush.  I then went over the oopsies on the table itself. You know like getting your hand in the way and then getting paint where you did not see it.  I painted  white over all those little imperfections.

Taking what was a dingy table, the inspiration of a teacup and the finished product a very cute table that is now sitting between two chairs in my family room.  You can do the same to any dingy or tired piece of furniture you have.  Simply stated from table to teacup.

What keeps you from getting paint on a paintbrush.  Do you ever see a print and desire to have it painted somewhere. The best practice is to just do it.  I hope you enjoyed this fast and easy Do It Yourself table. If you enjoyed A Teacup To A Table, tell me so.

 

I would love to hear your thoughts and opinions on this post. Jump into the conversation and connect with us.

