Pictures and Purging the Office: 5 Tips How To Do This

It has been a long week of deciding on pictures and purging the office.  This is Part Three of my office make over.  You can read about Part One and Two here:

Part One: “Painting the Office with Kids”

Part Two: “An Empty Painted Office”

Here is the truth. I am tired of this project.  Why?  I want it to be  done. I want to hire a designer to make the decisions for me.  I want someone else to go through years of stuff being in the old office.    I am the designer. I am supposed to love this process and deliver fantastic information to my readers on the glorious fun of choosing colors, fabrics, and laying out the furniture.  That was fun.  That was actually a blast.  That was no real work at all.  Now staring at two paintings. I want to hang and can’t decide because my eyes are a little crossed.  Which would you choose?

The blues in this painting are stunning with the opposite walls being blue.

This picture is softer and more subdued. I love this painting too.

The paint is true to the image on the left.  I think I will choose that one, the way it plays off the blue accent wall is really quite lovely.  Can someone come and hang this picture for me please? Sew the window treatments and the accent pillows?  Now the real work begins and it’s Friday and I am tired.   Here is what is important to know and do when making over a room.  Have fun and take your time.  I am my worst client. I stopped having fun when I wanted it done now.  I am very good at communicating to my clients realistic lead times and perhaps I should have written up a contract for myself, to follow  so I would not be a little inpatient. Here are 5 tips to help you along too.

1. Allow time for the decision-making process:  Decisions on major design elements in a room do not happen over night.  If you have several things you love, in my case these two painting, do not put pressure to make a decision now.  Think it over and enlist some influences in your life to offer their opinions and ideas.

2. Purge what you do not want to take into the new:  Literally out with the old and in with the new.  My previous office did not move.  It has many years of collecting, inspirations, pictures, and client files from years past.  Do I really want to fill my new space with things I will not be using anymore?  Ask yourself that same question. This does not come easy for me.  Visual people love stuff.

3. Evaluate your use of space and the placement of furniture carefully before moving in:  I had plans for how this room would be arranged. It did not include the yellow love-seat.  I wanted to work this piece of furniture into the room, so I had to change things around.  Imagine if I laid out the large pieces, jumped in to start filling the shelves, worked in the office and realized the layout did not work.  All that work would have to be undone to move things around.

4. Take breaks away from the new space:  Why is this important? Every single time I walk away from this project for a couple of hours I come back  and love is restored.  When in the thick of purging and rearranging it IS overwhelming. I know I just want to get it done, then I get frustrated and move away from those warm fuzzy feelings of loving my new space.  Taking a break and coming back, I get intoxicated with the new paint smells, the new colors and love it all over again.  Refreshed and ready to jump back in.

5.  Pat yourself, or your designer on the back:  There is a lot of work that goes into these kinds of projects and encouragement to keep moving forward is a must.  I had my neighbor step into this office today. I loved how she breathed in a  smile and told me how wonderful it looks.

With the mix and mingle of painting and purging the office I find myself enlisting these 5 tips too.  Happy Friday.

How do you get yourself through some of the bigger design projects in your life?

6 responses

  1. My spouse and I absolutely love your blog and find almost all of
    your post’s to be exactly I’m looking for. can you offer guest writers to write content available for you? I wouldn’t mind writing a post or elaborating on a lot of the subjects you write related to here. Again, awesome web log!

  2. Cheers for the fascinating post. I personally also like the way you have your blog
    site setup. The site is simply very well put-together.
    .

I would love to hear your thoughts and opinions on this post. Jump into the conversation and connect with us.

